The Annual Meeting is our premier event, gathering hundreds of philanthropic decision makers committed to strengthening our free society and to exploring, collaborating, and solving our nation's greatest problems through meaningful and effective philanthropy. 2019 is the 28th year that donors from across the country met to share ideas, strategies, and best practices, and heard from America's leading experts in private innovation and forward-thinking policy.


8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Investing in a Civic Renaissance
12:00 - 1:15 p.m.
1:30 - 1:45 p.m.
Welcome and opening comments
1:45 - 3:00 p.m.
Opening plenary

Upward Mobility: Stepping Stones to the American Dream

3:00 - 3:15 p.m.
3:15 - 4:30 p.m.
Concurrent sessions
6:00 - 7:00 p.m.
7:00 - 7:05 p.m.
7:05 - 8:20 p.m.

Investing in Freedom

8:20 - 9:20 p.m.
Late-night reception
7:30 - 8:30 a.m.
Alliance for Charitable Reform Breakfast
7:30 - 8:30 a.m.
Breakfast roundtable discussions
8:40 - 10:00 a.m.
Big Ideas

Briefings on timely topics

10:00 - 10:30 a.m.
10:30 - 11:45 a.m.
Deep Dive Conversations

Dig deeper into the topic that interests you most

11:45 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
12:00 - 1:45 p.m.
Presentation of the William E. Simon Prize for Philanthropic Leadership
1:45 - 2:15 p.m.
2:15 - 5:15 p.m.
Concurrent Workshops
5:15 - 6:30 p.m.
Break / FIRE Livestream
6:30 - 7:45 p.m.
Reception-style dinner
8:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Evening salons
7:15 - 8:00 a.m.
Continental networking breakfast and coffee
8:00 - 9:00 a.m.
Concurrent sessions
9:15 - 10:15 a.m.
Concurrent sessions
10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Closing brunch
2:00 p.m.
Optional local activity


Scott Cook

Scott Cook Founder and Chairman, Executive Committee Intuit

Joe Lonsdale

Joe Lonsdale General Partner 8VC

Nadine  Strossen

Nadine Strossen John Marshall Harlan II Professor of Law New York Law School

Amity Shlaes

Amity Shlaes Chairman Calvin Coolidge Presidential Foundation

Robert Doar

Robert Doar President and Morgridge Scholar American Enterprise Institute

Russell Carson

Russell Carson Chairman The Carson Family Charitable Trust


10 Highlights from the 2019 Annual Meeting

The 2019 Annual Meeting was an amazing event thanks to our incredible speakers and attendees. Here are 10 highlights from the meeting.


The Philanthropy Roundtable extends its most sincere thanks to the following sponsors for their generous support of our 2019 Annual Meeting:




Enroth Family Fund
GMF 2016 Logo


KF_logo-stacked (4)

Sponsor of First Amendment Content




The Ahmanson Foundation

Edyth Bush Charitable Foundation

Conrad N. Hilton Foundation


Thomas S. Kenan III

The Samuel B. and Margaret C. Mosher Foundation

The Ralph M. Parsons Foundation

The Sunderland Foundation

Taube Philanthropies


For more information on how you can help, please contact Rachel Verdejo at